MCD School Teachers awarded for their excellence by Tech Mahindra Foundation

Tech Mahindra Foundation, the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) arm of Tech Mahindra Limited today has felicitated Delhi Municipal School Teachers for their excellence teaching, responsibilities and ethics. The 5th edition of Shikshak Samman Award was held at Stein Auditorium, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi. The Function was graced by Mrs. Reva Nayyar (IAS), (Chairperson- Bal Sahyog & Director Essel Trust Foundation) Mr. Harsh D. Malhotra (Chairman, Education Committee, EDMC), Mr. P K. Gupta (Commissioner, NDMC), Mr. S. Kumaraswamy (Commissioner, EDMC), Mr. Manish Gupta (Chairman, SDMC), and Tech Mahindra Foundation’s was represented by CEO Dr. Loveleen Kacker (IAS).

Speaking on this occasion Mrs. Reva Nayyar (IAS), Chairperson- Bal Sahyog & Director Essel Trust Foundation said “I think change in the quality of learning of government school children is primarily dependant on the quality of teaching that is imparted in classrooms. It is really a very good initiative by MCD and TMF towards this improvement by encouraging and motivating those teachers who are doing commendable job for our children in government school”. 

“Teachers are the strength of our education system. Our Municipal Corporation is very happy to collaborate with Tech Mahindra Foundation in celebrating and awarding the dedication and success of our teachers. We wish the teachers best in their future endeavours.” – said, Mr. P. K. Gupta, Commissioner, NDMC. Congratulating the teachers.

On this occasion, Dr. Loveleen Kacker (CEO), Tech Mahindra Foundation said “We believes that good quality education is every child’s right and is critical for our country’s future. We recognize that it is the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) which bears the major responsibility of delivering primary education to hundreds of thousands of underprivileged children of our capital. In spite of several daunting challenges, many teachers in the MCD schools are working with great dedication. They deserve recognition and encouragement by the civil society, and therefore the Tech Mahindra Foundation has instituted the Shikshak Samman Awards to honour outstanding teachers working in the Municipal schools”.

The Scheme, which has been running very successfully in close partnership with MCD has honoured 25 MCD teachers with the Shikshak Samman Award. In fact, it would not be wrong to state that SSA Award is not only highly sought; it has also begun to spin a change among the teachers who now compete for the award and constantly work towards quality education for the children.

The award carries a citation, a cash amount of Rs. 15000/-, a TLM kit worth Rs. 5000/- and also supports the awardees through a series of capacity building sessions/workshops culminating in a three days residential retreat in an idyllic location.

Selected awardees also get opportunities to interact with some of the leading educationists and thematic experts in forums like Study Circles, which are specially organized for the awardees with a vision to create a platform for lateral learning and exchange of innovative pedagogic transactions.

List of the teachers who got the award
Ms. Amita Charraya, Ms. Anju Nagpal, Ms. Anshu Sharma, Mr. Bhupinder Singh, Ms Indu Batra, Ms. Kalpana Tehlan, Ms Kamlesh Kumari, Ms Madhubala, Ms Mansi, Ms Mamta Kathpalia, Ms Meenu, Ms. Mendiratta, Ms Meena Kapoor, Ms Nishu, Ms. Pooja Butani, Ms Priyayanka, Ms Rekha Chug, Ms Reema Singal, Ms Reema Sharma, Mr Sandeep Kumar, Ms Sangeeta Dhingar, Ms Sarika Sharma, Ms Seema Sharma, Ms. Sahshi Kumar, Ms. Shahina, Ms. Shelle Gupta.

Labels: , , , ,